eBid Stores
My eBid
Upgrade to Seller+ Lifetime
eBid Help
Close
Login to Your Account
eBid Community Forums - Chat & find help from others in the eBid Community
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Total newbie here...can anyone help with some suggestions please?

Red face Total newbie here...can anyone help with some suggestions please?

Hi all,
    I truly am a total newbie! I did so much research on auction sites and it was so clear why I wanted to do it here! That "other" site, while it gets amazing traffic, I was scared I couldn't afford the fees and face it, we don't want to do this to make someone else lots of money. When I read that they charge a fee for what YOU ship something for, I was turned off completely.
    I've been through so many forum posts here, now I'm completely overwhelmed. I'm a self-learner usually, but I've seen how helpful and knowledgeable so many are so I'm biting the bullet here and asking for you help. I'm hoping if some chime in with suggestions I'll be able to get this successful!
    First some background on my store...I'm helping some friends of my mom clear out their closets. They all have beautiful clothes, shoes, handbags. (All mostly designer label) Some is outdated so the consignment stores won't take them, and they feel they are worth more than just a tax deduction write-off. I would like to see them get into the hands of those that admire and could never afford "new".
    So, here's my issues:
    1. I have no idea how to price these...do I start with a low bid, and take the chance that some expensive items will sell at $9.99 or worse $1.99?
    2. I understand the pricing with auction and buy it now for Google purposes, but do you do this with ALL items? And how does this work with low starting bid and Buy It Now? In other words, if I start an auction at $.99 what's a good way to calculate a good buy it now price?